Zoning Board

Stock image of people standing at a podium in black


The mission of the City of Summit Zoning Board is to provide an independent body, empowered to grant relief from the strict application of Zoning Regulations (variances), approve certain uses of land (special exceptions), and hear appeals of actions taken by the City.


All meetings of the Zoning Board are open to the public, and public comments are welcome once application hearings are completed. No sign-up is required to comment. Public comments on specific site presentations are also allowed after each such presentation, with the length of the comments at the discretion of the Zoning Board chairperson.

Zoning Board Application

As of June 3rd, new Planning & Zoning Board Applications are being accepted:

DCS has resumed the acceptance of any new Zoning Board of Adjustment and Planning Board applications either in-person or by mail. In addition to the Zoning Board Application or Planning Board Application, applicants must submit a signed COVID-19 Waiver.  Please email the Planning & Zoning Board Secretary with questions or call (908) 273-6407.

Active Zoning Board Applications

AddressDocuments for Review

4 Waldron Avenue
557-565 Morris Avenue
29 Plymouth Road
296 Summit Avenue
21 Hughes Place
8 Club Drive
29 Fairview Avenue
11 Plain Street
15 Caldwell Avenue
2 Woodmere Drive
69 Pine Grove Avenue
31 Woodland Avenue
183 Ashland Road
23 Whittredge Road
115 Butler Parkway
25 Sherman Avenue
206 Oak Ridge Avenue
72 Fernwood Road
226 Hobart Avenue

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Zoning Board Members*

Steven Spurr
ZB Member, Chair4-year Term
Joseph SteinerZB Member, Vice Chair
4-year Term
Elizabeth Newell 
ZB Member
4-year Term
David MollinZB Member
4-year Term
Ayman MalehZB Member
4-year Term
Tom UckoZB Member
4-year Term
Scott LoikitsZB Member
4-year Term
Claire TothAlternate I2-year Term
Diana SajerAlternate II
2-year Term
Jaime LevineAlternate III
2-year Term
Walter GonzalezAlternate IV
2-year Term

* The Common Council appoints seven members to the Zoning Board for four years and four alternates for two years.  

Zoning Board Staff

Staff MemberTitle
Christa AndersonZoning Officer
Christopher NicolaZoning Board Secretary
Beth Little
Council Liaison